Abundance

For Christmas, I bought myself a half-share from Visser Farms’ Winter CSA.  I picked up my first basket of goodies today and is what I got:

This is a HALF-share?

Holy moly.

WHAT have I gotten myself into?  You can’t even see the 2 pounds of potatoes underneath everything else.  I have nine weeks of this coming my way!

Actually, I’m pretty excited.  Look at how gorgeous this stuff is!  What a great opportunity to try some things I’ve never had before – like kohlrabi.  Does anyone have any suggestions?

5 responses to “Abundance

  1. How wonderful! I’d love to do this for us, but keep convincing myself that the cost is prohibitive with our local CSAs and the shares too big. I do need to hit the farmer’s market more often in the Summer though. I am making a Tex-Mex Potato and Cheese soup at this very moment which used up 2lbs of potatoes and an onion (and other items I needed to use in my fridge)…. What about making a broccoli potato cheese soup? I’ve never had Kohlrabi either, but this recipe sounds very easy and tasty –

    Kohlrabi with Parmesan
    2 large or 3 medium kohlrabi, stalks and leaves removed
    2T unsalted butter or olive oil, or combination
    1/4 c grated parmesan cheese
    Salt and pepper to taste
    1T minced parsley

    Peel kohlrabi to remove fibrous outer layer. Shred with grater or food processor, Heat a medium skillet with medium heat. Add butter and/or oil. When fat is hot, add kohlrabi. Cook, stirring frequently, until vegetable is tender, about 8 minutes. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Stir. Toss with cheese. Cook until cheese melts, about 1 minute. Garnish with parsley. Serve hot. Serves 4.

    • Visser Farms’ Winter CSA price is $126 for nine weeks. Based on what I got this week, I think that’s pretty reasonable. In fact, I priced it out and a half-share is about $500 for an entire year. I am pretty darn close to the farm, though, so I’m sure that has an impact on price. In fact, I think it’s less than 10 miles from my house. We are pretty blessed with the agricultural selection here in Michigan.

      I’m DEFINITELY going to try roasting some of the kohlrabi. Coincidentally, I just bought some great fromage that would work well with it from The Cheese Lady. Her shop is amazing.

      • Nice! The closest CSA here is pretty pricey and the only way to get a discount is to host as a pickup location or box items – typical coop-style, but still expensive. The farm I like for PYO outings is too far for delivery or weekly p/u (an hour away). You definitely got a great deal there because even that farm’s CSA is a 1/2 yr for $645 (although the half share is a 15lb box!) Let me know how the Kohlrabi turns out – I’d love to try a new veg!

  2. We were discussing kohlrabi at work the other day. It seems that it is very similar to broccoli stalk in taste and texture.

    • It’s just a bit more tender and not as fibrous. I didn’t get any this week, but next time I have some I think I’m going to try a slaw or a pickle with it. Mmmm, vinegar.

Leave a Reply

