Howling at the Moon

I have no idea what happened to the last week.  It’s always hard to get back into the swing of things after vacation, but add a full moon on top of it and madness ensues.  Crazy dreams, testy colleagues,  cat freaking out every night, losing my keys, my cleaning lady* was sick, wrecked sleep schedule, trying to get back on the no Diet Coke wagon** . . . sigh.

My life is so trying, right?***

At least I’ve been able to have fun with my CSA produce.  I wish I could say EVERY dish has been a success****, but I can’t.  I can, however, say at least ONE was fantastic – and it was the easiest, least-thought-out one of them all.  A happy cooking coincidence!

They call me Miss Mise En Place

January CSA Supper (makes 2 servings)

Ingredients:

3          slices bacon, diced into bits

1          small onion, sliced

¼         head of green cabbage, shredded

1          carrots, peeled and chopped

2          parsnips, peeled and chopped

3          small potatoes, chopped to ½” cubes

½         tsp dill weed

¼         tsp caraway seeds

¼         tsp smoked paprika

1          cup plain yogurt

salt & pepper to taste

Cook bacon:  Heat a heavy-bottomed skillet pot over medium high heat.  Add bacon and cook until crispy and all the fat has rendered.  Remove bacon from pot to drain on paper towel, but leave drippings in pan.

Cook vegetables:  Add onions to skillet, cook for a few minutes until soft.   Add the rest of the vegetables, and cook, stirring occasionally, until potatoes are tender.  Add caraway seed, dill and smoked paprika, cook for a few more minutes until the whole lot is fragrant.

Put it all together:  Toss the bacon bits, cooked vegetables and yogurt together in a large bowl.  Season with salt and pepper to taste – and if you like dill as much as I do, add a dusting.

What can I say, I really like dill.

* Yes, I am single with no kids and have a cleaning lady.  I hate cleaning floors and believe in supporting local business people.  Don’t judge!

** Diet Coke is from the devil.  That fake sweet, chemical fizz gets me every time.  I allowed myself to gorge on it over Christmas and the new year.  Now I’m paying the price for being a junkie.

*** Not.

**** Due to my inattention*****, I totally burned an entire pan of roasting parsnips, kohlrabi and carrots as well as three heads of roasting garlic.

***** And by “inattention”, I mean I completely and utterly forgot the oven was on for, like, 2 hours.  Nice.

5 responses to “Howling at the Moon

    • Thanks for the props on the photos. I’m still learning. I was just outside trying to take a picture of the full moon. Unfortunately it turned out about as good as my roasted vegetables. Ha! Back to google to figure it out.

      Let me know how the recipe works out for you – you’re my first potential tester. Eep!

Leave a Reply

