When The Meatballs Are Gone

What are you going to do?

See, what happened was . . . I made spaghetti with meatballs on Friday for dinner with a friend.  I like spaghetti with meatballs: it’s quick, easy and satisfying.  I usually have all the ingredients on hand, so it’s kind of a no-brainer meal.  And the left overs are good!

Too good.

Especially the meatballs.

I spent Saturday eating all the meatballs and NOT the leftover sauce and pasta.  I always do that.  You know, you’re running around the house, crafting awesome stuff*, feeling a little hungry but not hungry enough for a meal.  So you grab a fork, spear a meatball and there you go.  Problem solved.  For 20 minutes until you repeat the process.

This leaves you hungry on a late Sunday morning with crusty leftover pasta, watery sauce and no meatballs.  Which brings me to the real point of this post: guerilla cooking.  The recipes I’ve posted are dishes that I worked on to get right.  I made them several times and tweaked things here and there before I put it out there.  Typically, however, when I cook for just myself it’s like this morning: pull a bunch of stuff out of the fridge, figure out what goes together, decide what form it’s going to take and put it all together.  Here’s what I had:

Aren't these gorgeous?

Beauty!

Here's most of the rest of the ingredients**

So, first I chopped up my vegetables and set my water to boil.  While cooking the pasta*** was cooking, I sautéed the cabbage and carrots.  When the pasta was done, I pulled it off the burner, drained it and put it back in the covered pot.  Next, I added the peppers to the carrots and cabbage and then went to work on the sauce.  I wanted something creamy, so I made up a 1/4 cup roux (1/4 c butter + 1/4 c ap flour), to which I added the leftover tomato sauce and a bit of water.  While that warmed, I measure out 1 c of whole milk, dropped a raw egg into the milk and mixed it up.  I added a cup of the warmed sauce to the milk/egg mixture to temper the egg, then put it all back in the pot to thicken up.  While that the sauce cooked over medium low heat, I grated about 1/2 cup of parmesan.  I added the cheese to the sauce and let it melt in while stirring constantly.  Get a big old bowl, add the pasta, then the vegetables, then the sauce.  Toss it all together, et voila!  Brunch!

Cabbage, carrots, peppers and pasta

Brunch is served!

So, there you have it!  Guerilla cooking Indiana Jayne style.  Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t, but it’s always fun to experiment.****

* Cannot WAIT to post some of the silly things I’ve been working on!  Soon!

** I love my old school Pyrex!  That bowl has been a part of my life since before I can remember.  I love that I still have it.

*** Trecce dell’orto!  The black ones are flavored with squid ink!  How cool is that!

**** I’m always happy when it works out because it’s not only brunch, it’s dinner as well.  And lunch and dinner tomorrow.  And probably lunch and dinner Tuesday.  I’m going to be eating this for the next 2 days.

2 responses to “When The Meatballs Are Gone

Leave a Reply

