Why Do I Do This?

It was one of those weeks where I had to ask myself that very question several times.

I had to be out of the office at a client’s site on Wednesday and Thursday.  I have to do this kind of thing on a semi-regular basis, so you’d think I’d have the process nailed down, but no.  I always wake up too early, get anxious I’m going to be late, get lost on the way there*, still arrive an hour early and end up sitting in my car tweaking my files and running through the agenda until the last minute.

Why do I do this?

To celebrate after a long week, I go out with my girlfriend and SWEAR I’m only going to have two martinis.  It started out innocently enough, but it didn’t end that way.**  I spent all Saturday morning napping and drinking water.  Half a weekend day wasted!

Why do I do this?

One martini, two martini, three martini - FLOOR!

Not satisfied with Friday night debauchery, my Saturday evening boredom leads me to believe it would be a good idea to cook with these ingredients:

You can't go wrong with beer, cheese and onions

I know I’ve mentioned my “issues” with cheese.  I don’t think an entire pan of potatoes, cheese, onions and beer is a good solution to Saturday spinster boredom.***

Why do I do this?

Lastly, carb coma and BTUs**** glue my ass to the couch and I end up watching The Fast & The Furious: Tokyo Drift.  TWICE.

WHY DO I DO THIS?!!

Anyway, I’m going to spend Sunday getting my act together for the coming week and pretending like the last 48 hours didn’t happen.

Saturday Spinster Scalloped Potatoes (makes 8 servings)

Ingredients:

4          russet potatoes, sliced in rounds

4          small onions, sliced

2          cloves garlic, minced

12        oz beer

¼         cup all-purpose flour

¼         butter

2          cups milk

8         oz Colby cheese, shredded

1         tsp dry mustard

1         Tbs hot sauce

salt & pepper to taste

Prepare onions:  Heat a heavy-bottomed skillet over medium high heat.  Add onions and garlic with a bit of olive oil.  Cook until onions are tender, about 5 minutes.   Add the beer and continue cooking onions until liquid has evaporated and onions are soft and caramelized.  Remove heat and set aside.

Beer onions - I think these could be used to great effect *** in a lot of dishes

Prepare sauce:  Melt butter in pot over medium heat, add flour and, whisking constantly, cook to a light, toasty brown.  Add milk slowly, whisking constantly and cook until sauce thickens, ~5 minutes.  Add half the shredded cheese, the hot sauce and the mustard.  Stir until cheese is melted, then season with salt and pepper.  Note: it should be a little salty – the potatoes will mellow it out

Put it all together:  Pre-heat oven to 350.  Butter an 8″ x 11″ pan and layer potatoes, half the onions and a third of the sauce.  Repeat, then top with a final layer of potatoes and the remaining sauce.  Cover the whole thing with the remaining cheese and bake for 45 minutes or until potatoes are tender when pierced with a fork.

This is looking like a winner

Drool

It really is pretty tasty

* This is probably the cause of my anxiety.  I need a smart phone or a gps or something.

** In my defense, they make the best martinis I’ve ever had – and believe me, I’ve sampled extensively.

*** OK, I only ate one bowl, not the whole pan; but now it’s sitting in my refrigerator calling to me.  At least I made it with reduced fat milk and cheese.

**** Beagle Thermal Units.

3 responses to “Why Do I Do This?

  1. Alex and I are in agreement. We would both risk severe burns to face-plant into those potatoes! Will be making this soon, thanks for the great recipe! xo

  2. Pingback: What the Hell Happened | The Random Brain of Indiana Jayne·

Leave a Reply

