I’m Missing a Beagle

A lot.*  It’s been a week.  I’m still sad.  And lonely.**

I never realized how much my life revolved around being there for my little dog.  We had our schedule for so long that it was second nature.  Without him I’m so out of sorts – I don’t know what to do with myself.

Mostly I miss wanting to be home.  I drove around for 3 hours today just because.  The house is too quiet.

HOWEVER

As much as I haven’t wanted to do anything but sit and feel sorry for myself, I realize the need to make an effort to not just wallow.  I’m letting myself be as sad as I want to be***, so long as I’m actually taking care of myself and the business of my life.

So, in an effort to carry on, here is a quick recipe I came up with

Grief Spinach (serves 4)

Ingredients:

10        oz fresh spinach, chopped

1          bunch green onions, diced

2          cloves garlic, minced

¼         cup white wine

4        oz chevre

2         Tbs butter

salt & pepper to taste

Grief Spinach Ingredients

Grief Spinach Ingredients****

Saute garlic:  Heat a large pot over medium heat.  Melt the butter and add garlic.  Cook until garlic is lightly toasted and starting to brown, about 5 minutes.

Cook spinach: Add the wine to deglaze the pan.  Add the spinach and  green onions.  Cook for just a few minutes until the spinach wilts but is still bright green.

Cheese it up: Remove from heat and add the chevre.  Mix until the cheese melts and makes a creamy sauce.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Fin

Fin*****

* Sorry, no picture.  Can’t deal with that yet.  Looking at pictures just wrecks me.

** Oddly enough reading this makes me feel better.

*** I highly recommend crying like a baby while cutting the grass.  Sunglasses hide the tears and the sound of the lawn mower means you can cry as loud as you want and no one will know. Add in the physical activity and you have grief-purging perfection.

**** Note that my ingredients show a lot more garlic, twice as much white wine and sour cream instead of chevre.  I tried this recipe a couple of times and what’s listed is what I prefer.  The sour cream wasn’t bad though.  I think you could even do it with cream cheese.

***** Again, this is a previous version.  I didn’t have green onions, so I used on small yellow onion and cooked it with the garlic.

4 responses to “I’m Missing a Beagle

  1. Oh, my dear friend. Words cannot adequately express how very I’m so sorry that Mr. Mojo is gone. We all wish we lived closer so we could give you big hugs and make you feel less lonesome. While we cannot provide the BTUs – Skype us if you ever feel the house is too quiet. 🙂 Love you – C

    • This may sound weird, but the thought that a stranger took the time to send me a virtual hug just makes my day. Thanks so much for your kindness and consideration. Thoughtful people like you make the world a better place.

Leave a Reply

